Remember Me

“Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.”  (Luke 23:42).

When the thief on the cross said to Jesus, “remember me,” he was trusting that Jesus would do more than just think about him, he was trusting that Jesus would remember and bring the thief to be with Him in paradise.  He heard Jesus’ words, and those words gave him faith that Jesus meant and would accomplish what He said.  (Luke 23:42).  The power of God amazes:  Through mere words God created faith in a man hanging on a cross in another man hanging on another cross.

Likewise, when Jesus said, “Do this in remembrance of me,” he wasn’t merely asking us to not forget about him, but to think of him in faith: to remember and believe his words: “This is my body.”  In the Lord’s Supper, God puts His Word in our mouths.  This Remembrance creates faith, this remembrance is faith.

“In remembrance” means that the message of Christ crucified will always be proclaimed.  Jesus ascended into heaven, but gave us His Holy Spirit as a Guarantor to guarantee His promise: “I will come back and take you to be with me.” (John 14:3).

God’s Word causes our mouths to speak in faith: “Jesus, remember me.”

