“Jesus’ Blood and Righteousness”

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found,
Clothed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

—  The Lutheran Hymnal: “My Hope is Built on Nothing Less,” 370:1, 4.

4 thoughts on ““Jesus’ Blood and Righteousness”

  1. Nathan,
    Thanks for the comment. What especially struck me as I read those stanzas was the word “Faultless.”

    How else can we stand before the throne of heaven? And how else can we be faultless than “in His righteousness alone”?

    Our “hope is built on nothing less; Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.”

  2. That’s a classic. I recently discovered another wonderful justification hymn called “Before the Throne of God Above.” Here’s a source for the lyrics where someone went to the trouble of listing Bible references as well. I love how the text is at once intensely personal and Christ-centered.

    I believe this hymn is in the LSB. I wish it were in Christian Worship Supplement! Tunes vary, but I’m totally taken with this version sung by Chris Rice.

  3. Shane and Shane do a very good rendition of “Before the Throne of God Above” as well, especially with the Hallelujah refrain after the second and third verse.

Comments are closed.