Light Bulbs vs. The Nanny State

As an amateur photographer, I can attest to the inferior quality of CFL light.  They give off an unhealthy looking green glow, and have ruined many a photograph.  Compact Florescent Lights have good uses, but we should not ban beautiful incandescent lights.

If the government is going to start outlawing beautiful objects just because they allegedly consume too much energy, then there are many things government could outlaw: holiday lights, water fountains, fireworks, beautiful architecture, etc.  Banning these inventions might save energy, but what would be the effect on our quality of life?

This country needs to return to the often misunderstood and forgotten concept of freedom.

3 thoughts on “Light Bulbs vs. The Nanny State

  1. Agree totally. The Australian government is phasing incandescent globes out too. My view is encourage CFLs by all means, but do we have to ban incandescant globes? Notice hardly anyone mentions the problem of mercury in CFLs and the problems if you break one. Plus fluorescent (that’s the way we spell it in the British Commonwealth) lights give me a headache!

    OK. Having got that off my chest…really like your blog and I’m going to link to it. I’ve always appreciated the WELS and I love your photography. Please have a look at my 3 blogs via my profile and if you want to link to one of more of them that would be great (no obligation for a quid pro quo, mind you, just if you appreciate them).

    Beautiful photographs!

  2. Hope you enjoy them, Rick.

    I’m from the ‘Lutheran Church of Australia’.
    We were formed in 1966 from a church body that was in fellowship with LC-MS (and for that matter probably with Wisconsin too until the synodical conference break, 1961?) and another in fellowship with the old American Lutheran Church. Both those ties were cut to enable the union to take place. Hermann Sasse – you probably know of him – was a professor at our seminary. We are a confessional church body struggling to keep that identity. I came to Wittenberg from Canterbury (i.e. Anglicanism) 15 years ago, which accounts for the continuing interest in things Anglican you’ll notice on my main blog.

    While we are not in church fellowship, we are one in Christ, and I’m sure we’d share much in common theologically.

Comments are closed.