Hallowe’en Moon

Those waves in the video are from billows of rising air heated by the sun.  We see this effect above fires, and a similar effect causes the stars to twinkle.  The moon’s movement from left to right in the picture is caused by the earth’s rotation.

When Jesus was on earth, he looked at the same moon and the same stars.  Happy Hallowe’en and All Saints Day.

Joshua said to the LORD in the presence of Israel:
“O sun, stand still over Gibeon,
O moon, over the Valley of Aijalon.”

So the sun stood still,
and the moon stopped,  [Joshua 10:12-13].

Therefore, we sing to God:

O LORD, our Lord,
how majestic is your name in all the earth!
You have set your glory
above the heavens.

From the lips of children and infants
you have ordained praise…

When I consider your heavens,
the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars,
which you have set in place,

what is man that you are mindful of him,
the son of man that you care for him?

You made him a little lower than the heavenly beings
and crowned him with glory and honor

You made him ruler over the works of your hands;
you put everything under his feet.  [Psalm 8:1-6].

The son of man and the son of David is Jesus.  He is the reason God cares for us, he atoned for our sins, and as a man he has been made ruler over even the stars.  About Jesus, God says:

I will not take my love from him,
nor will I ever betray my faithfulness.

I will not violate my covenant
or alter what my lips have uttered.

Once for all, I have sworn by my holiness—
and I will not lie to David—
that his line will continue forever
and his throne endure before me like the sun;

it will be established forever like the moon,
the faithful witness in the sky.”   [Psalm 89:33-37]

Jesus reigns forever, and all creation sings:

Praise the LORD from the heavens,
praise him in the heights above.

Praise him, all his angels,
praise him, all his heavenly hosts.

Praise him, sun and moon,
praise him, all you shining stars.   [Psalm 148:1-3]

Amen.

One thought on “Hallowe’en Moon

Comments are closed.