Excerpt from “Through the Looking-Glass”

The following is an excerpt from Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There by Lewis Carroll.  It is a conversation between Alice and the White Queen:

“I’m seven and a half exactly.”

“You needn’t say ‘exactually,'” the Queen remarked: “I can believe it without that.  Now I’ll give you something to believe.  I’m just one hundred and one, five months and a day.”

“I can’t believe that!” said Alice.

“Can’t you?” the Queen said in a pitying tone.  “Try again: draw a long breath, and shut your eyes.”

Alice laughed.  “There’s no use trying,” she said: “one can’t believe impossible things.”

“I daresay you haven’t had much practice,” said the Queen.  “When I was your age, I always did it for half-an-hour a day.  Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.

The White Queen is of course mad.  She can believe anything because she chooses her beliefs.

Sin is a sort of dark madness through which we often delude ourselves.  Contrariwise, the truth is a rock.  We receive truth as a gift, not a choice.  (James 1:17-18).

