Race the Lake 2013

IMG_1147

Lake Winnebago

On Sunday, August 18, 2013, I participated in the sixth annual Race the Lake, a 90 mile bicycle race around Lake Winnebago.  The race starts and finishes in Fond du Lac, WI.

Last year, I forgot to bring my camera.  This year, I brought my camera, but was too tired after finishing to take any decent pictures of the event.  I discovered it is very hard to take good action shots when all one wants to do is sit and rest.  So instead I sat by the water, rested, and took some scenic photos of Lake Winnebago.

It was kind of a rough race this year because I had spent a considerable amount of time and energy cleaning up after the tornadoes that hit Northeast Wisconsin on August 7, 2013, so I was rather worn out before the race even began.  Nonetheless, I was able to beat my previous best time by finishing in four hours and fifty-six minutes.  To see pictures of me in the event from John M. Cooper Photography, click here.  (In the finish line pictures, my two fingers and thumb together were supposed to signify the Holy Trinity.  I was tired, and maybe didn’t do it very well).

God provided beautiful weather for a good race.

IMG_1145

Soli Deo gloria.

