Race the Lake 2014

IMG_2081

On Sunday, August 17, 2014, I participated in the annual Race the Lake, a 90 mile bicycle race around Lake Winnebago.  The race started and finished in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin.

IMG_2087

All the pictures in this post were take at Lakeside Park in Fond du Lac, where the finish line was.

IMG_2086

Race the Lake is open to bicyclists of all skill levels.  On the race route police and volunteers direct traffic at all intersections so that participants do not have to stop.  There is support and help for any bicycle that experiences mechanical problems.  There are also food stations and rest stops along the way.  The largest rest stop is at High Cliff State Park, the half-way point of the race.

Out of the four times I’ve done this race, I posted my worst time at 5 hours and 20 minutes.  Maybe a lot of factors played into that slower time, then again maybe I just had an off day.  Nonetheless, ninety miles in five hours and 20 minutes isn’t a bad time.  And I got the same finishers’ medal that I would have gotten with a better time.  Overall, it was a beautiful day, and a good ride.

IMG_2084

In the picture above, far off in the distance, you can see the large windmills that are up on the Niagara Escarpment.  It’s usually very windy up there.

To see pictures of me in the event from Paul Manke Photography click here.  (In the finish line pictures, my two fingers and thumb together were supposed to signify the Holy Trinity).

Soli Deo gloria.

