Matt Harrison, Pastor of Pastors

10888568_10205865964639164_367075598960480709_nOn January 26, 2015, Matthew Harrison, the President of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod said:

When a public teacher on the roster of Synod can without consequence publicly advocate the ordination of women (even participate vested in the installation of an ELCA clergy person), homosexuality, the Errancy of the Bible, the historical critical method, open communion, communion with the reformed, evolution, and more, then the public confession of the synod is meaningless.

I am saying that if my Synod does not change its inability to call such a person to repentance, and remove such a teacher where there is not repentance, then we are liars, and our confession is meaningless.  I do not want to belong to such a synod, much less lead it.

I have no intention of walking away from my vocation.  I shall rather use it and, by the grace of God, use all the energy I have to call this Synod to fidelity to correct this situation.

— Matt Harrison.
Facebook post, January 26, 2015 A.D.

Pastor Harrison was referring to Matthew Becker an ordained LCMS clergyman and teacher at Valparaiso University, an alma mater of mine.

As you can see in the photo above, Pastor Harrison is an actual pastor.  He is a pastor of pastors.  And the vocation of a pastor involves calling out sin and false doctrine.

Apparently, he does not have the direct bureaucratic power to fix this sore situation, but he does have the power of the word of God.  And that is a power not to be underestimated.  However, even though God’s word is all powerful, that does not mean that it is God’s will to fix the LCMS.  There is only one holy Christian Church, and it is not coterminous with the LCMS or any other Lutheran synod.

God is in control, and our prayers are with President Harrison.  May God give him strength, wisdom, and especially, faithful helpers.

Kyrie eleison.

2 thoughts on “Matt Harrison, Pastor of Pastors

  1. Pr Harrison was an exchange student at my alma mater, Luther Seminary in Adelaide, Australia in the 1980s and I had the pleasure of meeting him several times during his return visit on holiday c. 2000 when I was a student there. While I am sure he would be the first to admit he has made some mistakes as president of the LCMS many in that synod and my own regard him as an exemplary church leader. I join with you in praying especially for him and his synod at this time.

Comments are closed.