The Days of Old

EN_Psalm_77_5

I consider the days of old,
the years long ago.

I said, “Let me remember my song in the night;
let me meditate in my heart.”

Then my spirit made a diligent search:

“Will the Lord spurn forever,
and never again be favorable?
Has his steadfast love forever ceased?
Are his promises at an end for all time?
Has God forgotten to be gracious?
Has he in anger shut up his compassion?”

Then I said, “I will appeal to this,
to the years of the right hand of the Most High.”

I will remember the deeds of the Lord;
yes, I will remember your wonders of old.
I will ponder all your work,
and meditate on your mighty deeds.

— Psalm 77:5-12, ESV.

Let us appeal “to the years of the right hand of the Most High.”  God has never forgotten us, and he never will forget.  From the beginning in Eden, the Church existed.  The Lord was with us then, he has been with us ever since, and he will always be with us.

He protects us with wonders and mighty deeds:  His promise, his incarnation, his life, his cross, his death, his resurrection, and his return will endure forever.  His mightiest deed is our salvation in him.

